Eyes Wide Open

A Perspective From Within

My Drug of Choice… Me and Babo

2 Comments

That’s Ross on my left. He was the only drug that could calm me. Due to my intense emotional state, the nurses allowed Ross to stay the night with me in ICU. He laid next to me in a small chair that folded flat and told me in the most assuring tone that everything was going to be alright. He massaged my lifeless and numb arms and fingers all night until I could fall back asleep.

Let me introduce you to Babo… Babo was the doll that Kim got me. Kim Marchetta is my partner in crime; we call her Florence Nightingale because she has come to my aid and been by my side every step of the way. I sleep with Babo. He protects me. All the nurses love him. When they make my bed, they make sure he’s in the middle right on the pillow.

“Babo will protect you. Having a bad day? Someone giving you a hard time? Babo’s got your back. What Babo lacks in mind power, he makes up for in love. He’s everybody’s best friend. He will stick with you to the end and when something scary happens, he will send you a nice greeting card from wherever it is he runs away to. A very curious, mischievous creature, Babo may need some guidance and parenting, so make sure to bring him with you to as many places as possible. Leaving him at home is fine, but please put all cookies and money on the highest shelf.”

2 thoughts on “My Drug of Choice… Me and Babo

  1. Mary All the girls so happy to see your smiling face! Seems you’ve been quite prolific since you don’t have to spend so much time keeping me on task! Love you J9

  2. Hi Mary. Loved this post. I still have my blanky who is 42 years old and a newer addition called lamby. My mom got it for me a year ago. Who would of thought a 40 something year old could be so fond of a stupid stuffed lamb but that lamb is my sleep companion. He travels with us and is like an addition to mike and I. Not sure if he thinks so. My neice who’s 8 helped me undo my bed last night and said we have to tuck lamby in. Loved your post and praying for a full recovery. Lots of love, Sandy:/)

Leave a Reply

