Eyes Wide Open

A Perspective From Within

Mary Vaccaro on NBC

10 Comments

Jackson Memorial Hospital Hosts JMH Olympics

A unique version of the Olympics was held Monday at Jackson Rehabilitation Hospital. The athletes: patients with spinal cord injuries…

http://www.nbcmiami.com/news/local/Jackson-Memorial-Hospital-Hosts-JMH-Olympics-165187676.html

Meanwhile, Mary Vaccaro, from Akron, Ohio, said it was a good thing she wore her Adidas when competing in the chin-ups event. “I beat a couple of 20something males, so I’m very competitive, and I just had to beat their record and then my record too,” she said.

10 thoughts on “Mary Vaccaro on NBC

  1. Here’s the whole clip from the news, sorry about the low tech recording technique
    .

  2. Hi Mary!
    I am cheering you on! I look forward to reading your blog daily but I must say that today brought the biggest smile to my face yet!!! It was great to see you and your smiling face and to hear your voice! You are so strong! A day doesn’t go by that I don’t think about you! I think that it is wonderful that you are sharing your ups and downs with us – your story is so motivating!!

  3. You truly are gold Mary, keep smiling all of Akron is cheering you on.

    Pam & Mark Goldfarb

  4. I had no idea…thank you for sharing your story. It truly is an eyeopener for all of us knowing how quickly things can change and how one must find the strength we never knew we had! You are surrounded by a wonderful family…..Glad your brothers are nearby. I will continue to follow you blog and prayers for continued perseverance and hope

  5. Mary Mary Mary- so sorry that it takes such a devastating accident to reconnect. I was so shocked & saddened when I heard of your accident last month & have been praying for your recovery. News at home has been hard to come by- but thanks to distant & mutual friends on facebook- I learned of your blog today. So nice to see your beautiful smiling face (hospital bed aside- you look as radiant as ever!) and read about all you have been going through. Your words made me both laugh & cry. So glad that your sense of humor has prevailed! You ae truly an inspiration- so strong & determined. What great progress you’ve made so far! Although I know the weeks & months ahead will be a difficult uphill journey- I have faith that you will continue to improve & get stronger with each passing day. Know that many friends from Kent are thinking of you & praying for your full recovery. Thank you so much for sharing your story. Love to you…

    ~Kimmy

  6. Hi Mary Angela!! I had no idea this happened until Lisa posted your blog. I’m so glad she did. I’m really very sorry to hear about your accident. I read your blog. You haven’t lost your way with words – your blog could be a book one day. Way to put Akron on the map via NBC! I’m glad to hear you haven’t lost your competitive nature, either. You are in my prayers as well as the Elms community’s prayers. I will also put you on the prayer list for the Sisters. That will be 450 nuns across the world praying for you! If there is ANYTHING I can do, please let me know. Stay strong!
    – Carli

  7. Mary,
    Elana and I think about you every day and send you our best wishes from our hearts. I hope you received our flowers — and hope they made you smile.
    Love,
    Cousin Diane Evans

  8. Hi Mary Angela,

    You look pretty great and you are certainly doing that neckbrace a favor! 😉 I just read all of this today when Carli put something on the Elms website. ( Even though they booted me from the school, I still have some good connections there, I guess.)

    To be serious, just for a sec, you will certainly be on the top of my list of prayers. Your courage and your humor are both inspiring and not at all surprising. You have always been a pretty tough broad, probably cuz you had all brothers, but more so cuz you’re Italian! Also cuz we always made you sit at “The back of the bus, Mrs. Robinowitz”.
    We knew it would make you a tougher person, but no one could have predicted how strong you would become when you really needed it the most.

    I think of you often and still talk about our fun times at the Elms with Sr. Maria, Mike, Sr. Noel and all the other characters that made us laugh. How many times would you say that we got Mrs. Smisko off track in Algebra I ? I am pretty sure she had at least 10 birthdays that year! LOL…come to think of it, no wonder I still stink at Algebra, we never gave her the chance to teach us!

    I’ve seen your brother Raphe many times over the years and always ask how you are doing. He’s always had nice things to say about your life with Ross and how you’re a great party planner and entertainer. That of course, didn’t surprise me at all. Also, I think Ross was the one that told me I was pregnant with my third child. Small world, isn’t it?

    I just signed up to get the notifications for when you post on your blog. My family and I will be praying for you and we look forward to hearing about the amazing progress you will continue to make.
    Keep your awesome sense of humor and positive outlook on life. You really are inspiring many people who you’ve probably never even met.

    Take care and hang in, girlfriend!
    Love ya!
    Erin English (Beitko)

  9. Mary, your skin looks amazing so we are doing something right! We will continue sending you our little care packages! Have an awesome weekend!

  10. Dear Mary,

    Your are truly beautiful inside and out. I learned about your blog not long ago and was so sorry to hear of your circumstances. I believe in healing and know that you are in the healing path to recovery. You are a very special person and it’s so good to see your smiling face and hear your lovely voice.

    Warm thoughts of prayer and healing from Akron Ohio!

    Love,
    Gina Rossi Tobin

Leave a Reply

