Eyes Wide Open

A Perspective From Within

The Same 4 Walls

4 Comments

At the end of my stay of Jackson Memorial Rehabilitation Center, thats all I wanted to do is get out of there…

“Why am I here then? Did I do wrong? Did I sin against someone? Was there an incident, a specific thing someone can point to? Can I have an explanation please? CAN SOMEONE PLEASE TELL ME WHAT IS GOING ON???Of course, no-one answers. Just the blank stare of the same four walls.  Those walls. I know them in a way humans shouldn’t come to know walls. I know every crack, every stain, every bump, every streak. Just the four walls , the hole in the floor, the empty plate and me.Don’t leave me here forever. Will I be here forever? Or for the rest of my life? And what’s the difference, exactly?Will the walls outlive me, or will I move outside them once again?”

4 thoughts on “The Same 4 Walls

  1. Dear Mary
    Just got word of you accident and your trip to recovery
    You probably don’t remember me but i will keep you in
    my prayers. You have done an amazing job so far
    What a wonderful attitude you have. You will come all the
    way back with such an attitude and God’s blessing
    Toby Gorant

  2. Hi Mary! I’ve tried calling to find out a current mailing address for you – I know you have so much going on physically, emotionally, mentally, so whenever you can get the info to me, or however, e-mail, text, phone msg, I’d love to send you something. I feel terrible that I haven’t been able to see you in person, or help in some way, but I want you to know that I think of you every day, my entire family and I are praying for you, and are so proud of you. I am also praying for stem stell research. I love and miss you very much. Have been following this blog, you look amazing in the video! Just a reminder, if anyone in your family, or friends need buddy passes to come and see you, just let me know. They are stand-by tickets, but if it’s not during the busy holiday season, they usually work out pretty well. I will come down soon, so far I’ve been to Miami twice for overnights, but they were so short, getting in at 10 or 11pm, then out at 8am, it was frustrating to be so close and not be able to see you! Call when you can! Kathy D.

  3. Hi Uncle Mary! I feel so bad for what happened to you. I hope you feel better and that these walls don’t haunt you the rest of your life. Miss you!

Leave a comment